Well, the reason I'm late this month is because I always leave writing to the last few days, and, well, I've had some hard work. I'll keep this brief but let me tell you, I've been working on dub scripts for a unscripted show from MTV which not only is deeply unfunny but also a nightmare to translate. I don't believe for a second that the hosts aren't always pretending they're laughing and forcing the most unfunny jokes you can imagine. But what makes it so tiring is that 1, they're always talking, there's always someone going “yeah” or “MAN” or “You know what I mean?” and being a dub it means I need to note down every instance of that. It sucks. Well, and reason number 2 is that they asked me to do one episode a day, which I'm never doing again, cause it's technically doable, but some days I get so stressed with the show I feel like taking an extended break. Friday I went to sleep earlier and wasn't in the mood to do anything by the time I was free of work (although Saturday went on better, for the record), so in times like that the episode kind of takes my whole day, which is obviously not good if I'm stressed with it. Anyway, enough complaining about work.

I think I'll keep this post a brief one, as very little has happened in the month. The big thing is I completed a cheapish Arcueid cosplay that I've been wanting to do for a while. It basically means I bought some clothes and a wig and didn't do much else, but I'm happy that I've done it regardless (I even posted some pics and personally I thought I looked cute, which I never say about myself). I decided to do it this month because there was a local con coming up on the first day of October and I thought maybe I could go in costume… In the end, I didn't. And I probably won't, because said con took place today and I can say it was pretty bad, just like last year, but this time the space seemed even more cramped somehow, so I think I stayed there for about twenty to thirty minutes in total. Would be a complete waste if not for the fact that I stumbled across a soft vinyl figure of Ultraman Taro! I have a small Ultraman collection, Taro looked really good, for a reasonable price, and to top it off I had a brief conversation with the salesman about Ultraman and buying merch from overseas. Definitely the only highlight, but I'm glad there was one.

Now speaking of merch, I'd mentioned my Suruga-ya packages and they came. Lots of shoujo manga in Japanese, of which I'm currently reading Tonde Saitama. It's going smoothly, I'm really happy to be reading things in Japanese again. Obviously I already ordered more stuff, because I have no restraint and the shop keeps opening free shipping campaigns. So really it's their fault. The other highlight was a gigantic artbook by Yoshihiko Umakoshi, probably my favorite anime character designer ever, which is a whole treasure by itself and made me very, very happy. And I think that's pretty much it. I'll do the media shoutouts abridged this time.

I finally read the Doukyuusei manga by Asumiko Nakamura. I've been a fan of the movie adaptation for a long while: watching it and feeling things was one of the first signs I liked guys, so it's very dear to me. Somehow, I'd never read the original work, cause I kept in my mind the movie was enough to me, until I read Nakamura's manga J no Subete, and realise I need to read everything she's ever drawn. In short, the Doukyuusei manga is as lovely as the movie, and I recommend both a lot.

For movies, I've watched Infernal Affairs, which was later remade as The Departed, and a couple of other Hong Kong Action movies: Police Story 2, 3, and In the Line of Duty 3 and 4. Those are all great, too. Also the mind-blowing musical/special effect masterpiece Little Shop of Horrors and the amazing detective movies Lullaby to Kill/Devil's Ballad and The Kid Detective (the former being an adaptation of Detective Kosuke Kindaichi's mystery novels, the second being an original neo-noir dark comedy movie that blew me away).

And, to close it down, I need to mention that I've finished Shin Megami Tensei III and am already hooked on IV, and I'm just not more hooked because I'm not playing it on an actual 3DS. I really like those games! Now, I'll do another one of those on October, because obviously it's still September. Thanks for reading and have a nice week.